Mid Ulster

Mid Ulster Policing District straddles two counties from Swatragh in the north of the District to Fivemiletown in the south. The district is mainly rural with three main towns – Dungannon, Cookstown and Magherafelt.

Superintendent Stephen Murray is the District Commander for the area that comprises Magherafelt, Cookstown and Dungannon. He is supported by Chief Inspector Michael McDonald.

District Personnel

  • Superintendent Stephen Murray


    Stephen Murray

    is the District Commander for Mid Ulster.

  • Chief Inspector Michael McDonald

    Chief Inspector

    Michael McDonald

    is responsible for performance across the District.

Your Local Policing Area

Communities living in Mid Ulster District now have two Local Policing Teams (LPTs), based in Magherafelt and Dungannon Police Stations, providing 24 hour cover to continue keeping local people safe right across the District. These officers are supported by three Neighbourhood Policing Teams (NPTs), based in Cookstown, Magherafelt and Clogher Police Stations, which are mobile and deployed to areas to deal with critical issues.

Our commitment to your district

Our job is to keep people safe. We want to do that by policing alongside you, providing a speedy, effective service but also taking the time to listen to you and play our part in making our communities safer and more confident places to live and work in. We adapted our policing to be more responsive to the needs of your community.

Your Local Policing Teams will be based in Dungannon and Magherafelt and will be available 24/7 to come to help you. They will work with you on community problems, provide advice and reassurance and spend time learning about what most affects your community and how we can work with you to improve your safety and quality of life. We are committed to building long term relationships, addressing complex anti-social behaviour problems and helping communities resolve conflicts in the areas most affected by high levels of crime. Your District will have three Neighbourhood Policing Teams based in Cookstown, Clogher and Magherafelt stations. They will be mobile and sent to areas where they are most needed.